The fire
There is a very big fire in my town right now. This hotel caught on fire, its called the monroe street hotel, and it's realy just a place where old people live. Russ's family owned the hotel, his grandpa actually, so russ worked there on the weekends. He cooked.

So he was there when the fire started and he had to help evacuate the old people. There was this one guy, Leonard, and when they had fire drills Russ would always help to get Leonard out.

So Russ asked Leonard if he could get out okay and Leonard said yes, so Russ went and got another old woman out. Well, Leonard did not get out of the hotel and he inhaled smoke, so they took him on an ambulance and later he died.

So Russ is totally beating himself up, blaming himself, he cried. I've never had a boy cry to me before. I am so sad right now, I don't know what I can do.

He loved those old people, he always talked about them and told stories about them. Now they have no place to go and nothing to show for. Their worlds have been rocked.

The streets are covered with people, everybody is out watching. I sat up there with my mom, trying to keep an eye on russ, but he was constantly in motion and I felt like I was bugging him so I just hung back.

I just want to hug him and never let go.

!<-- - -->?


lucky
July 23, 2004 - 10:42 pm