a strange day indeed
THe sky is fierce right now. It's lightning and thundering out and the lightning is the super jagged type, white hot and short tempered. Every few seconds the sky is lit up with the furious electricity. theres two main sets of clouds visible to my eye, the background clouds and the foreground clouds, and the lightning is sandwiched inbetween. The clouds are one million shades of grey and just plain pissed the fuck off.

Today was one of the weirdest days of my life. The weed flowed like wine between the three of us, it was almost unbearable. Every customer that came in, well, damn near every customer, was very strange.

There was a tornado warning for about an hour or so. The sky turned green, bright bright green. The clouds looked like they were painted on with oils. Huge chunky angry green clouds slathered across the entire sky. The sirens (like in the beginning of the song "war pigs" by black sabbath) in the town went off, every few seconds you would hear ERRRTTT ERRRTTT ERRRRTTT THERE IS A TORNADO WARNING IN EFFECT FOR (my) COUNTY. TAKE COVER IMMEDIATELEY. Shit like that.

There was a lone family inside the store with us, freaking out. I could tell they were travelers by the accent. cheeseheads. They were weird, so weird. The family did what a typical homely wonderful little family would do,

the dad was pacing nervously back and forth through the store, looking out the windows and stopping and cocking his head upwards when the weather alerts came on the radio. The mom was sitting in the very back booth out of sight from any window, holding the two boy children in her lap. The kids were scared to death, it was obviously written across their faces.

The dad asked where we would go if a tornado came and we told him we could all jam into the cooler in the back of the store, cause its huge and the safest place to be during a tornado.

some woman came in before those people and told me she saw a small funnel cloud just outside of town. I was freaked out too, all I wanted to do was call everyone I know and make sure they were safe. It was a strange strange day....weather makes people strange I think.

But then I saw light in the distance and I knew no tornado was coming. Eventually the sun came out and the sky was blue with large strange clouds that looked like hanging balls. Sort of like bunches of grapes sporadically placed throughout the sky.

We had two vanloads of spanish speaking people, about ten people, with two people that could speak english fluently. that was crazy but I can speak enough spanish to get my way down the line, even if it does sound choppy and probably terrible to a native tongue.

I went outside to pick up trash in the parking lot and I found a necklace with St. James on it, kind of like a small medalion on a long chain. The back said "pray for us" but the medallion itsself was all rusted, it took me forever to figure out what the cursive writing said. I dont' even know who St. james is, I think I'm going to look him up. Maybe its a sign, maybe it was sent on a mission from god, cause I have half a pack of cigarettes, a full tank of gas, and its 250 miles to chicago.

!<-- - -->?


lucky
July 13, 2004 - 10:36 pm