Nine inch nails was my comfort back then
When I was around twelve or thirteen my mom would drink every other night and be really loud and get into fights with my stepdad. she drank bud light, he drank budweiser. He used to hurt her, but thats a totally different story.

I got real good grades back then, I was on the honor roll and I played the flute, played basketball, wanted to be the popular girl, curled my bangs like everyone else, wanted the popular boy.

I hated her because she drank, I used to scream at her and cry and turn down her loud music because I had to sleep because I had to get up early because I had to get good grades. One time I kicked her, I mean I really kicked her, and she cried out in pain and I started crying, sitting there in teh living room on the dirty pink carpet, I held my face in my hands and cried, and she cried too.

She would cook food in the wok, anything she had in the kitchen, and it smelled so bad, I remember smelling the greasiness and waking up to the mess in the morning.

I would lay on my bed at night and listen to them fight and each time she would go to the fridge to get another beer I would plug my ears as tight as I could because the popping sound of the can made me want to kill her.

I listened to nine inch nails on my portable cd player, I turned the volume up as high as it would go and lie there with the headphones on. every hour or so I would shut off the music and listen to see if they had finally quit drinking and fighting and finally just passed out.

When I could hear no noise I would finally be able to sleep, I would take off the headphones and set them by the side of my bed, turn over onto my side and sleep.

The next day I still hated her and half the time I wouldn't talk to her, but she usually would do something nice for me like make me breakfast or something silly and I wanted to forgive her, she was trying to make me forgive her.

Sometimes I would and sometimes I wouldn't but it never failed, every other day she would come home with a twelve pack and drink it all.

She could not discipline me because I had no respect for her.

She outwardly says that she messed up my life, that its her fault that I'm fucked up the way that I am, and she wants me to say "oh no mom, you were a good mother" but I can't say it because she wasn't. She was a shitty mother and she was never there for me when I needed her to be.



!<-- - -->?


lucky
August 26, 2004 - 5:42 pm