power outtage
FIVE FIFTEEN p.m. wEDNESDAY nOVEMBER 24

"I have no power right now, writing this on paper by candlelight.
This has been such a strange day, I can't even describe how I feel in words. First the tree falling, then the first snowfall, and now the power has gone.
It's times like this I an really appreciate having a gas powered furnace.
I suspect the power won't be out for too long, and that the wind caused the outtage. I can hear it rushing through my windows, a steady driving force, its even rattling my mailbox.
The dog is surprisingly being good, sitting at my feet. I am sitting on the couch, the black coffee table as my writing surface, hunched over scribbling furiously. Horrible handwriting,

No lights in the neighborhood, any light possibly coming from the sky obscured by thick cloud cover, though the snow brings somewhat of a startling whiteness, its almost charming.

Car is fully covered, sidewalk is slushy, mud everywhere,
My house is brightly candlelit and warm, I feel like some kind of courageous pioneer"

EIGHT FORTY EIGHT p.m wEDNESDAY nOVEMBER 24

So after that someone came over, then we got in his truck and drove through the streets of my town, in total darkness.
It was so great, no power, nothing, total blackness. Seeing candles lit up in the windows of nearly every house of the eve of thanksgiving. The guy was so pessimistic and kept bitching about not having any power, I was like, shut the fuck up, he bitched some more. I smiled the whole time, in awe of the nothingness.
I said "there could be total chaos right now, we could start a riot, we could rob the gas stations and get away with it. He chastised me, I said fuck you brian.
The traffic was so heavy, right at six o'clock, people comeing home from work, thinking about turkeys and travelling and dreading and loathing and anticipation and warmness and eagerness.
Everything was in such perfect order, all those cars in a row coming from the north south east and west, obeying traffic laws perfectly, so un=chaotic, so disappointing.
We came back to my house and Ian showed up, then we went to the gas station, went in in total darkness said hi to mary, the cashier, went to the cooler and bought eight redublls, went to my house and did four bombs a piece, then another singular shot for each of us.
Drove around a bit more,

then the pwoer magically turned back on, after almost three hours of darkness in the entire town.

And now I'm sitting here, the entire house ablaze with artificial light, listening to Nine Inch Nails, the television on with the volume turned all the way down,
some anime shit playing
not watching
we take so much for granted.


!<-- - -->?


lucky
11.24.2004 - 20:42